Congressional Leadership in the 116th Congress

    View Author December 2018

    Leadership of the House and Senate will meet to determine committee assignments and committee leadership for the 116th Congress. Committee compositions depend on the majority parties in each Chamber, ratio of the majority to minority, leadership negotiations, and House and Senate leadership elections.

    In the House, eight incumbent committee chairmen are retiring. Republican-imposed term-limits on committee chairmen resulted in five of the retiring members unable to seek another term as chair. The House Republican Conference ratified Committee Ranking Member positions on November 30.

    In the Senate, Republican retirements have led to open leadership positions on the Foreign Relations and Finance Committees. Democratic leadership changes have been shaped by the loss of Sens. Bill Nelson (D-FL), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) and Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO).