Purposeful Philanthropy, Measurable Impact: 2022 Nonprofit Leadership Symposium

    View Speakers / Event
    Squire Patton Boggs
    (In-person and Virtual Participation)
    2550 M Street, NW
    Washington, DC 20037

    Dear friends and colleagues:

    We would like to formally invite you to register your participation in this year’s Nonprofit Leadership Symposium. Consistent with our past gatherings, we promise again an informative, thought-provoking, engaging program that aims to inspire continued purposeful philanthropy with measurable impact.

    We were deprived of the opportunity to meet in person last year, and as we start to turn the corner on the COVID-19 crisis, we are pleased to bring you this year a hybrid program that consists of both in-person and virtual participation options for Friday, April 22, and Saturday, April 23. Please indicate the manner in which you plan to participate during the registration process. Of course, we will understand should you need to make any changes due to unforeseen circumstances, as we will also remain flexible and adapt our programming to ensure ease of participation. In-person participation is recommended to take full advantage of the activities on Saturday, April 23.

    Herewith is our current agenda. Please stay tuned for additional updates as we approach the event start date. We hope to see many of you in person or virtually on April 22 and 23.

    Warm regards,

    Rodney E. Slater

    Friday, April 22, 2022
    Squire Patton Boggs: 2550 M Street, NW, Washington, DC 20037

    1 – 2 p.m.   Welcome and Opening Remarks – Frederick R. Nance, Co-Global Managing Partner and Global Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Counsel, Squire Patton Boggs

    The Squire Patton Boggs Foundation and Its Deans’
    Circle – Together, We Can Do Even More
    John Oberdorfer, President, Squire Patton Boggs Foundation
    Marni Lennon, The Deans' Circle; University of Miami School of Law, Assistant Dean, Public Interest & Pro Bono; and Director, HOPE Public Interest Resource Center & Lecturer in Law

    Practical Considerations in the Formation of Tax-exempt Organizations Associated With a Business (e.g., Squire Patton Boggs Foundation)
    George J. Schutzer, Partner, Squire Patton Boggs
    2 – 3 p.m.   Panel Discussion
    Harvard Advanced Leadership Initiative
    Tony Barash and Terri Hanson, ConTextos; ALI, 2010

    Keith Benson, Founder, The Department of PEACE (Political, Economic, Academic, Cultural Environmental); ALI, 2020
    Vivian Derryck, Concerned Citizens Defending Democracy; ALI, 2009
    Janice Brooks, National Congress of Black Women; ALI, 2020
    Paul Irving, Senior Fellow, Milken Institute; founding Chair, Milken Institute’s Center for the Future of Aging; ALI 2010
    3 – 4 p.m.   Fireside Chat
    Clarence Otis, Lead Director of Verizon and Chair, Jazz at Lincoln Center; former CEO of Darden Restaurants
    4 – 5 p.m.   Closing Session
    Young Leaders and Youth Leadership Development
    Corrine Irish, Partner, Squire Patton Boggs; Presidential Leadership Scholar
    Austin Harrison, Associate, Squire Patton Boggs; Civility Leadership Institute Fellow

    Kiya Jones, Ron Brown Scholar Program; Program Director, Guided Pathway Support Program
    Doris Crenshaw, Founder, Southern Youth Leadership Development Program
    Paxton Baker, Chairman, Congressional Awards Foundation
    Derrick A. Humphries, Immediate Past Chair of Epsilon Boule Education Foundation
    Wanda Jackson, Senior VP Human Resources, National Urban League; Black Executive Exchange Program (BEEP)
    Danguole Altman, Co-Chair, Baltic American Freedom Foundation; Professional Internship Program
    5 – 6 p.m.   Reception – Host Michael A. Curto, Managing Partner, Washington, DC, Office, Squire Patton Boggs
    6 – 8 p.m.   Dinner and Featured Presentation
    La Perla Restaurant: 2600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC (adjacent to Squire Patton Boggs)

    Russia, Ukraine – The West Was Never a Threat
    Ambassador Michael Polt, Senior Director, McCain Institute; Member of Board of Directors of Baltic American Freedom Foundation

    Saturday, April 23, 2022
    Democracy: Arkansas, The Delta Region, America and the World

    8 – 9 a.m.   Private Tour – National Archives Exhibit Space
    National Archives Rotunda Galleries – McGowan Theater: 701 Constitution Avenue, NW, Special Events Entrance
    9 – 9:15 a.m.   Welcome
    Patrick Madden, Executive Director, National Archives Foundation

    Michele L. Connell, Co-Global Managing Partner, Squire Patton Boggs
    9:15 – 9:45 a.m.   Fireside Chat
    Thurgood Marshall, Jr.
    9:45 – 11:45 a.m.   Plenary Panels
    Master Facilitator: Jim Honan, Senior Lecturer on Education, Harvard University

    William Hines Furbush Bust, Lee County, Arkansas (9:45 – 10:45 a.m.)
    Steve Higginbothom, Farmer and former Arkansas State Senator
    Roy C. Lewellen, Marianna City Attorney and former State Senator

    Monuments and Memorials Plenary Panel – Elaine Memorial, Phillips County, Arkansas (9:45 – 10:45 a.m.)
    Dr. Kyle Miller, Executive Director, Delta Cultural Center (Helena, Arkansas)
    Rayman Solomon, University Professor of Law and Dean Emeritus, Rutgers University

    The Power of the Word – Free Speech and Principles of Democracy (10:45 – 11:45 a.m.)
    Judy Perry Martinez, Former President, American Bar Association, 2019 – 2020; ALI, 2015
    Kim Tignor, Co-Founder, She Will Rise
    Walter Sutton, Professor, University of Texas at Dallas; Immediate Past Chair, Wiley College Board of Trustees; Past President, National Bar Association
    J. Terry Edmonds, Chief Speechwriter, Former President William Jefferson Clinton; Harvard Advanced Leadership Initiative Fellow, 2021; ALI, 2021
    Dennis Beagen, Regent Eastern Michigan University; Famed Coach Eastern Michigan University National Championship Forensics Team
    Harry Johnson, The King Memorial
    11:45 a.m. – Noon   Closing Remarks
    Noon   Depart for Washington Nationals Stadium:
    1500 S Capitol St SE, Washington, DC 20003
    1:05 p.m.   Washington Nationals vs. San Francisco Giants

    For more information on the symposium, please contact Michelle Esso