EU Agrees on 13th Package of Sanctions on Russia in Time for the Conflict’s Two-year Anniversary

February 2024
Region: Europe

On February 23, 2024, coinciding with the two-year anniversary of the start of the conflict between Russia and Ukraine, the European Council published its 13th package of sanctions against Russia, concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia’s actions destabilizing the situation in Ukraine. Through this new package, the EU reaffirms its unity and firm commitment to defending its fundamental values and principles, while also demonstrating unwavering support for Ukraine.

The European Council has settled 194 individual designations, including 106 individuals and 88 entities deemed responsible for actions detrimental to or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty, and independence of Ukraine. Overall, EU restrictive measures for actions undermining or jeopardizing the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine now apply to more than 2,000 persons and entities.

Related Content