Squire Patton Boggs Foundation Selects 2017 Public Policy Fellows

View Contact / News /Washington DC

The Squire Patton Boggs Foundation is pleased to announce its 2017 Public Policy Fellows, crossing a milestone of awarding its 200th fellowship through the program.

The Foundation is rooted in a history of civil rights advocacy, originally funded from the attorneys' fees from a 25-year pro bono racial discrimination case. Since 2005, the Foundation has awarded fellowships each year to exceptional law students who demonstrate a steadfast commitment to public service. The public policy fellowships support law students who commit their summers to advancing public policy projects at nonprofit institutions, government agencies and domestic or international legal organizations.

John Oberdorfer, the Foundation's President, said: "We have another incredibly talented group of law students undertaking placements this year at organizations and agencies across the US, as well as in Iraq. The Foundation is thrilled to mark its 200th fellowship this year. Our fellowships have had an enormous impact not just on the law students involved, but also on the organizations that have benefited from the Fellows' enthusiasm and commitment. The program aims to support the interchange of ideas between public service and law studies, and that is something we have proudly done now 200 times over."

The 2017 Public Policy Fellows are:

  • Connor Boe, University of Colorado Law School: Department of Commerce's National Institute of Standards and Technology – Public Safety Communications Research Division (Boulder, Colorado)
  • Davis Backer, University of Colorado Law School: Executive Office of the President's Council on Environmental Quality (Washington DC)
  • Daria Campion, University of California, Hastings College of the Law: United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees – Caribbean Protection Unit (Washington DC)
  • Tatiana Devia, American University Washington College of Law: US Immigration and Customs Enforcement – Human Rights Law Section (Washington DC)
  • Rebecca Deucher, Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law: Congressional Coalition on Adoption Institute (Washington DC)
  • Brian Downs, Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law: Texas Education Agency and Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (Austin, Texas)
  • Nicole Giles, George Washington University Law School: Department of State – Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance (Washington DC)
  • Gabrielle Gurian, Georgetown University Law Center: Consumer Federation of America's Food Policy Institute (Washington DC)
  • Adrienne Harreveld, University of Miami School of Law: Florida Justice Institute (Miami, Florida)
  • Ashley Lawrence, Howard University School of Law: NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund (Washington DC)
  • Chelsea Marx, University of Denver Sturm College of Law: Rocky Mountain Children's Law Center (Denver, Colorado)
  • Olivia Mendoza, University of Denver Sturm College of Law: Office of Governor John Hickenlooper – Policy & Research Team (Denver, Colorado)
  • Katelyn Murwin, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law: Department of Health and Human Services – Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Cory Sagduyu, University of Virginia School of Law: Equal Justice Center (Austin, Texas)
  • Holger Sonntag, Case Western Reserve University School of Law: Washington State Attorney General's Office (Olympia, Washington)
  • India Woodington, University of Texas School of Law: Texas Appleseed – Disaster Recovery and Fair Housing Project (Austin, Texas)
  • Zoe Weinberg, Yale Law School: Oxfam (Erbil, Iraq)
  • Erik Zornes, University of Virginia School of Law: Amara Legal Center (Washington DC)

Further information on the Squire Patton Boggs Foundation can be found here. To contact the Foundation’s Secretariat, please email squirepattonboggsfoundation@squirepb.com.

Press Contact

Angelo Kakolyris +1 212 407 0148