Squire Patton Boggs Foundation Selects 2016 Public Policy Fellows

    View Contact / News /Washington DC

    The Squire Patton Boggs Foundation is pleased to announce its 2016 Public Policy Fellows.

    Since 2005, the Squire Patton Boggs Foundation has awarded fellowships each year to exceptional law students who demonstrate a steadfast commitment to public service. These law students commit their summers to advancing public policy issues in non-profit institutions, government agencies and domestic or international legal organizations.

    "Once again, we have an outstanding group of talented legal minds dedicated to public service as part of this year’s Public Policy Fellows," said John Oberdorfer, president of the Foundation. "The 2016 class reflects our increasing emphasis on international fellowships. We are also proud that this class includes four military veterans. Alumni of the program include an incoming summer associate at the firm, Matthew Baker, a student at Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law who worked for the Open Technology Institute last summer."

    Established in 2000, the Squire Patton Boggs Foundation honored the retirement of one of the firm’s founding partners, James R. Patton, Jr. The Firm dedicated attorneys’ fees from a 25-year pro bono discrimination case, the Ironworkers Case, won by John Oberdorfer to the Foundation. The endowment continued to grow through the proceeds of a second large pro bono victory, the Yachtsman Case, when the firm successfully settled a federal racial discrimination suit against a hotel resort. The Fellowship Program, a key pillar in the Foundation, reflects the Firm’s industry-leading public policy practice and its commitment to public service.

    To date, the Foundation has provided fellowships to some 190 law students. The 17 US Fellows this year come from 13 law schools located throughout the country. Their summer internships are equally as wide-ranging and will be undertaken across the world, from San Francisco to The Hague.

    The 2016 US Public Policy Fellows are:

    • Katherine Almen, Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law: Environmental Council of the States (Washington DC)
    • Blaine Bengtson, University of Denver Sturm College of Law: United States Environmental Protection Agency’s Mobile Sources Enforcement Branch (Denver, Colorado)
    • Erin Biel, Yale Law School: United States Trade Representative’s Office of the General Counsel (Washington DC)
    • Christopher Childress, Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law: United States Attorney’s Office for the Northern District of Texas  (Dallas, Texas)
    • Jacqueline Coplen, University of Virginia School of Law: United States Department of Justice Civil Rights Division’s Servicemembers and Veterans Initiative (Washington DC)
    • Stephanie Fung, University of Virginia School of Law: United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (The Hague, Netherlands)
    • Mikaela Harris, Georgetown University Law Center: International Criminal Court (The Hague, Netherlands)
    • Brian Hinkle, University of Denver Sturm College of Law: Common Cause (Denver, Colorado)
    • Meredith Kaufman, University of Colorado Law School: Vermont Law School’s Food & Agriculture Clinic (Royalton, Vermont)
    • Aliza Lopes-Baker, Case Western Reserve University School of Law: United States Department of Justice’s Executive Office of Immigration Review (Bloomington, Minnesota)
    • Brittney Martin, Howard University School of Law: United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (Washington DC)
    • Michael Novotny, Southern Methodist University Deadman School of Law: DNA People's Legal Services (Window Rock, Arizona)
    • Anthony Rodregous, University of California, Hastings College of Law: United States District Court, Northern District of California Pro Se Department (San Francisco, California)
    • Margaux Roussel, George Washington University Law School: International Law Commission (Geneva, Switzerland)
    • Anupama Selvam, American University Washington College of Law: Vital Voices (Washington DC)
    • Eva Sikes, University of Texas School of Law: Texas Appleseed’s Fair Financial Services Program (Austin, Texas)
    • Eilif Vanderkolk, University of Colorado Law School: Federal Communications Commission's Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau, Policy and Licensing Division (Washington DC)

    The Foundation has also announced the Foundation’s third International Fellow from Qatar:

    • Asma Al Khulaifi, Hamid Bin Khalifa University Law School, Education Above All (Doha, Qatar)

    Further information on the Squire Patton Boggs Foundation can be found here. To contract the Foundation’s Secretariat, please email: squirepattonboggsfoundation@squirepb.com.

    Press Contacts

    Angelo Kakolyris +1 212 407 0148